I’ve Never Had Allergies (other than bees).

Standard

I’ve never had allergies before… except for bees. I do not like bees. I understand that they are important pollinators, but I don’t like them. When I was younger, I got stung twice (once behind each knee) and had to go to the ER because my throat closed and my legs got so swollen I couldn’t walk. It was awful. Other than that though, no allergies. I always thought, man I’m so glad that I don’t get runny noses and eyes and itchiness. I felt bad for my friends who had to deal with allergies; they can be really nasty.

So, when I called my Rheumy today and explained that I swear I’m not being a hypochondriac and that I really have been itching since Friday’s injection day, I was sure she was going to tell me it was probably just nerves or me trying to convince myself that giving myself injections was a bad idea. You can imagine my surprise when she said, oh it’s probably allergies. Enbrel suppresses your immune system and can make you more susceptible to allergies. Just take a zyrtec everyday and you should be ok, but let us know if it doesn’t go away. Wait, what? What do you mean it’s probably allergies?

So, let me get this straight. I went from some sharp pain literally in my butt to taking anti-inflammatories, giving myself self-injections, and now I have allergies? WTF! I will tell you one thing, my life never has a dull day anymore, that is for sure. So here’s hoping that Zyrtec does the trick and my insane itching goes away. Yay for more pills!

8 responses »

  1. Oh the joys of immunosuppressants!! Isn’t it awesome when drugs you take give you symptoms for which you have to take more drugs? ~;o( I’m glad you called your doctor, though. I hope the Zyrtec helps. And, yeah, life with an autoimmune condition is never dull. I’m pretty sure that more weird health things have happened to me in the past three years than in the first 25 years of my life combined. But I swear that once you find a treatment that works it really is a lot easier to keep everything under control and go back to “normal.” It’s just a bummer that you have to feel like a test rat to get to that point. ~;o( Hang in there!

  2. haha, I like that comparison to a test rat. Very true. I was talking with one of my coworkers who’s husband has an auto-immune disease (something with his skin. I can’t think of the name right now). Anyway, she was saying that she’s convinced there just isn’t enough information out there about auto-immune diseases for doctors to be able to tell you, you should do a, b, and c and it will help or hurt you. Do you feel like your rheumy doesn’t really know that much about RA or do you feel like he/she is really well versed? I’m not sure what exactly I expected from my first AS appointment but I don’t think I got it… if that makes sense.

    • Psoriasis, probably.

      I do think it is true that auto-immune stuff can be really confusing and that there is a serious lack of information for everyone involved. It’s also tricky because the cases of the same disease/condition can vary so much person to person – so what works for one person might not help another person at all. Unfortunately it does seem that what we are left with is a test rat scenario, where you just keep taking different drugs until you find what works. And the frustrating part is that you can’t try for just a day or two – you have to try for a month or two. So it’s a really time-consuming and miserable process of trial and error.

      That being said, though the process itself can suck, I do feel like I got really lucky with my rheumotologist. I feel like he knows A LOT about RA and I know that he treats a lot of other patients with RA. He always seems to have a plan for what to do next if the current treatment doesn’t work or makes me too miserable. I feel like I can talk to him and he’ll answer any questions I might have, no matter how crazy.

      If you don’t feel like your doctor knows about AS, or you don’t feel like you can talk to him/her or that they properly addressed all your concerns, you should probably consider getting a second opinion. Especially if you feel the same way after the next couple of appointments. What does your rheumy’s bio say? I just checked mine and it specifically mentions that he specializes in AS. Maybe reading his/her bio might make you feel more at ease – or help you realize that you might want to talk to someone else.

      • I understand that it is TOTALLY exhausting and overwhelming to consider finding another doctor, especially when you’re still learning about the AS yourself. So why don’t you see this one a few more times and see how you feel? I imagine your next appointment is not too far away?

        Then, if you still feel the same way, it’s probably time to bite the bullet and keep looking. Because this doctor is someone you are going to have to interact with a lot during the test rat stage (and probably forever thereafter). They are the ones making the calls about the drugs that hopefully will enable you to get your life as close back to normal as possible, so you better make sure it is someone who knows what they are doing and that you feel understands and listens to you. ~;o) If you need help researching for a new one let me know – I’ve got time and I’d be happy to help.

  3. I completely relate to the “drive you nuts” itching. I talked to my favorite pediatrician, Dr. Smith, and she also urged me to try Zyrtec. Thankfully, it works. Hope it does the trick for you.

  4. Pingback: Trials and Tribulations of Enbrel « Taking the World by Storm

Leave a Reply

