Jingle Bell 5K and a Hell of a Great Friend

Standard

Last year, Andrew and I decided to run the Jingle Bell 5K in Baltimore, MD.

The event, in which you tie jingle bells to your shoes was developed as a way to raise awareness and funds for the Arthritis Foundation. Last year, we signed up because it sounded fun and because Andrew’s sister-in-law, Mariah, has Rheumatoid Arthritis and we wanted to support her. With the help of a few friends, we raised about $200 or so, dawned our greatest holiday costumes (we went as trees), my friend, Rachel and her boyfriend went as elves, and ran the Jingle Bell 5K in Baltimore, MD. We had a fantastic time and couldn’t wait to do it again this year.

Well, obviously a lot has happened in the past few weeks and I have to admit, my thoughts about the Jingle Bell 5K were there but in the back of my mind. I thought, well, my Rheumy told me I can’t run and Andrew has to have surgery. Maybe we’ll just take a year off and do it next year. That’s where, my aforementioned friend (and one of my bests from High School) showed up. She emailed me asking if we were going to do it again, stating that she was ready to. Her email rejuvenated me and I thought, well, if I can’t run, I’ll walk. At least I’m doing something. Plus, it’s for a great cause. I expected, as last year, for a handful of folks (maybe 4 of us) to sign up. Well, here it is, still 1.5 months out and we have 10 people signed up for our team, “And a Partridge in a Pear Tree.” Not only that, but the team has raised $825 so far! And all because of Miss. Rachel Worthington.

So, while I may not be able to run this year, I will walk my heart out and when I figure out a treatment that works and keeps the AS at bay, you bet your butt I’ll be back on the start line and running. So this is a MASSIVE shout out and a heartfelt thank you to Rachel for pulling this together and re-motivating me to get out there and do something.

So, for those of you reading this, I encourage you to get out there and sign up for your area’s Jingle Bell 5K. It’s not just about running or walking or tying bells to your shoes, it’s about people coming together for a few hours to show Arthritis who is boss, to stare it in the face and say, today, I win. So get out there and walk or run or hop, skip, or jump. Or donate a few dollars to “And a Partridge in a Pear Tree” (Arlington, VA) or Team Z (Denver, CO).

Team And a Partridge in a Pear Tree  (we’re currently in 3rd place for teams)

Team Z  (Look under Team Rank for Team Z, currently in 3rd place)

Thanks again, Rachel, for being one hell of a friend! :0)

Leave a Reply

