Did Someone Wire My Jaw Shut?

Standard

Today was the last day of the 2011 Annual GRTS Users Conference and I couldn’t be happier. Not that it didn’t go well and not that I don’t love all the folks who came out from all over the country, but because I don’t think I could handle one more day or even 4 more hours. This week has been very trying. I’ve a Mid Term, the conference to put on, a 4 hour presentation to give one morning, overseeing other presentations, listening to folks voice their opinions (sometimes VERY strongly) about the issues that the database has or the way the government works… and socializing. Now it’s Friday, I have gotten very little sleep and my mind won’t stop racing. I’ve got so much to do between work and school. I was really looking forward to spending the next 4 days not caring and not thinking about all this stuff, because I’ll be in Boulder with Andrew and his brother, Austin, and Austin’s wife, Mariah. But, looks like I’ll be finishing up work instead :0(.

The worst part is on top of all the work that has to be done and the talking and conference-going that would tire out anyone, there’s the AS. I’m getting really frustrated. I know I have to wait for medications to work and it takes at least a month sometimes to see if something is working and having an auto-immune disease is like being a lab rat. But what gives? Everyday I feel like there is a new symptom or issue and it’s frustrating. The last few days I’ve had those rando- red circles appear. Fine, whatever. They itch sometimes, they’re sore sometimes. No biggie. But my jaw and my head? I NEED them to be ok! I’m sure my head is linked to the jaw but my jaw literally feels like someone wired it shut (by the way, never google image search for a wired jaw it’s gross).

This afternoon we went out to lunch and i couldn’t even eat my burger. It wasn’t huge, it was small. I tried to bite it, it hurt so bad, tears formed. I had to eat it with a fork and knife. I’ve only been experiencing the jaw pain since Enbrel started. I’ve never had it before. Now the question becomes is it because of the Enbrel or the AS? Or something completely different? It is a symptom of AS it’s just I’ve never felt it before. I guess it’s time to call my Rheumy.

Regardless, I am confident that we will find a treatment that works well and gets me back to normal (whatever that is)! I will be patient and in the meantime, continue blogging about the weird things that I feel and discover.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Week in Colorado « Taking the World by Storm

  2. Pingback: A Weekend at Home « Taking the World by Storm

Leave a Reply

