A Weekend at Home

Standard

This weekend was our first weekend at home in a while. Even though we cleaned and ran a lot of errands, it was fantastic… mostly because I finished all of my grad school homework for the upcoming week on Friday night so Saturday and Sunday, we got to sleep in! And sleep in we did– at least on Sunday. I slept until 10:30AM!!! I can’t even remember the last time I slept that late. What a great feeling. I don’t think I really ever thought about how much work it would be having a full-time job and going to grad school part time. It’s a lot. I find myself constantly doing work and I feel bad for Andrew because I come home from work and sit down at my, er his, desk and go to work and just hope that he’ll make dinner and what not. He’s been amazing… really. I don’t know how I would do it otherwise. School and work keep me in a constant state of stress, not to mention the added fun of random side effects and drugs that I have to take to try to feel normal.

What an odd thing to say; I’ve always prided myself on not being normal, so it’s funny that I am now trying to find the right combination of drugs to be normal. Ah life, so entertaining. Feeling wise, my jaw hasn’t acted up since last weekend, my injection site is a big red bullseye, and my back has been really sore… so all in all, the usual. I do have the added pain in the butt of my fingers, wrists, and hands just giving up on life constantly. They are super sore and I am finding it hard to grasp things or squeeze things (say like a bottle of spray cleaner). They tighten up and feel like someone is beating them. The funny thing is, I don’t know if that’s the ankylosing spondylitis, the grad school/work combo, stress in general, or what… but regardless I am trying to figure out how to make it better.

I am confident that I’ll figure something out! My next follow up appointment is next week and I just passed the month mark of giving myself injections (where does time go?) so I’m sure soon enough I will find something that works well.

On to more uplifting things… this weekend we got some rearranging done in the apartment, we tried to clean the carpets, we cleaned up the kitchen, we watched some movies, and we made baked lasagna-like spaghetti squash. I can’t wait to try it out! Here are some pictures:

1. First you roast a spaghetti squash in the oven

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. After the squash cools, you shred it like spaghetti, using a fork and mix it with some ricotta cheese.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. In a baking pan you spray with pam or olive oil and then spread pasta sauce or marinara on the bottom to coat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. You spread the squash-ricotta mix on top of the sauce in the pan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Then you spread some fresh basil and dollops of marinara or sauce

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Then you sprinkle on some Mozzarella cheese and a couple dashes of parmesan cheese.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. You cover the whole thing with foil and then bake for 15minutes (until the cheese melts). You remove the foil and bake 5 minutes longer to brown to preference. This is how it looks!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Guess we’ll see how it tastes tomorrow!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Sleeping in Splints « Taking the World by Storm

Leave a Reply

