My Rock.

Standard

When I had some pretty major ankle surgery including drilling into my bone and inserting some screws a few years ago, Andrew let me stay with him. He took care of me and brought me anything I needed or requested. He helped me wash my hair as I couldn’t shower; he constantly filled up my weird cooler-ice leg machine with fresh ice whenver he could, he kept a schedule of my medication, and he even pushed me around in a wheelchair. And not just for fun. He pushed me in my wheelchair to and from work for about a month and he pushed me all the way to and around the DC Zoo so that I could see the Christmas Zoo Lights show. For anyone around DC, you know what a feat it is to do this work on the hills and mountains of the Zoo/Adams Morgan area. Andrew was my rock.

When I got diagnosed with Ankylosing Spondylitis, Andrew was my rock. He came with me to my MRI and MRI with dye exams because I was scared of getting the dye injected. He sat there in the waiting room for over an hour waiting for me. When I finally go the diagnosis, Andrew came with me to my follow-up appointment so that he could meet my Rheumy and he took notes as the doctor talked and I asked questions. He even came with me when I went to learn how to give myself Enbrel injections on that fateful Friday morning. He gets me heating pads or ice at any hour of the night; he offers to carry things for me even though I yell at him and say I can do it because I want to feel really strong. He goes out of his way to make sure that I am always comfortable or as comfortable as possible.

As I mentioned a few times, I’ve been stressed out with work and school. I come home after work and get to work on school and Andrew cooks. He just goes about his business, puts in his headphones and makes delicious meals and brings them over to me at my desk. He is phenomenal. He is my rock. Through and through no matter what, I know I can count on him.

Tomorrow, Andrew is having surgery to remove a lump that is embedded in his external oblique (abdomen wall). Although he doesn’t seem to show it, I know he is nervous. The good news is that regardless of whether or not the lump is malignant, this would be the course of action; there is no sign of spreading; they are going to remove it and then biopsy it. Then they will reconstruct his muscle wall. The surgery may last anywhere from 1-4 hours depending how complicated things look once they get in there. He may or may not be spending the night at the hospital.

So, today’s post is dedicated to my one and only rock; Andrew. A guy who can make me laugh no matter how awful of a mood I am in; a guy who makes me feel like a movie star with the amount of attention he gives me; a guy who is intelligent, loving, a great cook, a wonderful a boyfriend, a fantastic friend, and just one hell of a great guy. Please think of Andrew tomorrow. I know I will be.

 

About aklasiccommotion

I have a zest for life and am always willing to try new things! I love traveling, food and cooking, my boyfriend, Andrew, our dog, Franklin, my bearded dragon, Roxy, and all things water-related. When I'm not at work dealing with nonpoint source pollution, you can find me hiking, biking, running, camping, road-tripping, or working on my masters in Environmental Planning and Management!

6 responses »

  1. Hi there, Great blog!

    My name is Kelly and I have a couple of auto immune conditions that I recently set up a page for in order to promote my own and the other flavours of the auto immune spectrum to gain some awareness. I came across your blog whilst researching ankylosing spondylitis and really like how you write. I will be giving your blog a shout out on my FB page (Auto Immune UK), my twitter (@autoimmuneuk) and my WP blog (Adventures of a bag lady) so that others may find you too 🙂

    • Kelly: Thank you so much for the post! I’ll have to check out your blog and twitter and FB page! I think it’s fantastic that you are promoting awareness. It’s super important! Let me know if I can help out in any way!

  2. So, now you’ve got me weeping a bit. I’m so happy that you found each other and fell in love. You are quite a team!

Leave a Reply

