PSA: Peas Cold Therapy

Standard

Since I’ve been spending the bulk of this past week checking on and hanging out with Andrew as he works through his surgery, I realize I haven’t posted anything regarding AS in a few days. Yesterday, I went off to CVS to pick-up my next round of Enbrel injections. As you may recall, I’ve been having strange injection reactions but my Rheumy wanted me to continue on the path of Enbrel and not give up quite yet… so I am being patient. Next week I have a follow-up appointment with the Rheumy to see how things are progressing and where we will go from here. I still need to schedule my physical therapy and I definitely am planning on asking about the pain/tingling in my fingers and wrists as well as my swollen ankles, which have been making themselves ever present more recently… particularly on my left ankle, where I had surgery.

Regardless, back to my trip to CVS. First off, I again owed nothing for my Enbrel perscription! Thank you federal employee Blue Cross Blue Shield and Enbrel Support! While I was at the store, I wanted to look for some sort of ice pack that I could use on my knees. It is quite difficult to do routine activities while tryng to hold an ice pack on your knee, so I wanted something preferably with a strap. That is when I found peas cold therapy. They have a variety of ice packs for different body parts and most important to me, they have knee packs. These circular ice packs have straps on them so you can simply freeze, place on the knee, velcro the straps and go or sleep or do what you need to. I will say that the ice packs are convenient. They are filled with little gel balls so there is nothing poking you. They flex and form around your knee. The packs is generally comfortable. I will say that my one downfall to this ice pack is that it didn’t seem to last for an exceptionally long time. I found that after an hour or so I needed to throw it back in the freezer… but, at least it worked for that hour!

Anyway, I figured I’d share with you– it cost about $16 and you can purchase them online or in the CVS stores. I saw on their pamphlet that they also carry a wrist ice pack and a lower back ice pack. I plan on purchasing these… Unfortunately, they don’t have adult ankle wraps, only youth ankle wraps, but perhaps in the future!

Has anyone else tried out this ice packs before? Are there others you like?

One response »

Leave a Reply

