Fa-La-La

Standard

Merry Christmas, everyone! It’s hard to believe that yesterday was Christmas. Where does the time go? I hope you all had a wonderful wonderful holiday and got a chance to spend some time with family. Andrew, Franklin and I were lucky enough to spend 3 whole days and part of two days at my parent’s house in Pennsylvania.  We were overwhelmed by all of the awesome gifts that we received from our two families and having the chance to spend time with my grandmother, mom, dad, and brother (and Andrew and Franklin of course) was just wonderful. Now we’re back in DC, settling in and trying to get ready for work this week (YUCK!). This weekend we’ll be heading off to OCMD to ring in the new year and a whole host of new resolutions… to be shared (perhaps?) at a later date. For now we’ll focus on putting our pasta maker to use!

I wanted to follow up on my last post (wow 1/2 month ago, I’m sorry!) In my last post about the implications of a tick on autoimmune diseases, I mentioned that my regular doctor told me that my lyme’s disease test came back positive. I then went off to visit an infectious disease doctor. The appointment went well- I spoke with both a doctor and an assistance who took my vitals, chatted with me about my history and told me where we were going from there. Basically they wanted to re-run blood work to confirm lyme’s and test for mono, toxy something or other which is caused by eating undercooked meat or soil, and a host of other things. I begrudgingly agreed. What’s another 3 or 4 tubes of blood… so off I went with a chat from the infectious doctor that he’d call me back in a week.

About a week later I received a call from the assistant I had met with- she was really nice and she calmly explained to me that my lyme’s disease test came back positive again as did the mono test. Thus, she said, I’m really sorry- you have lyme’s and mono. Umm what? Where did that come from? At least it explains the tiredness and the neck stiffness and the headaches and what not. They prescribed another 2 weeks of doxycicline (so I have a month prescription now) and told me to take it easy and that the mono would go away on its own.

The upside of this is that I have a diagnosis and I’m on medication. The downside of this is that for the whole time that I am on doxy, I can’t take enbrel… so my back and my SI joints have been acting up A LOT. I’m just hoping that now that it’s been a little over two weeks, my Rheumy will give me the go-ahead to go back on Enbrel so I can get back to feeling 100%. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, it’s been a rough Fall/Winter of 2011, but we are happy and ready for 2012- we both feel as though there are good things to come!!!!

4 responses »

  1. I can’t believe they found both when they retested..such a bummer, but it seems like you have already moved on and are dealing as well as possible. you are amazing, great mind-set! glad you had such a great Christmas w/ the family!!! xoxoxoxo

  2. Thanks, Jules! Feeling much much better (mostly more awake which is great)! I hope you are having a wonderful holiday and I promise our Holiday cards will be in the mail this week… haha :0)

  3. Pingback: Climate Ride/Half Marathon Training Day #2 | Larking Our Way Through Life

  4. Pingback: A Month of No Enbrel « Taking the World by Storm

Leave a Reply

