The Best Money You’ll Ever Spend

Standard

You hear it a lot with diet fads and exercising enthusiasts. You see it posted in shoe stores and in advertisements for shoe pads. The best money you’ll ever spend is on a good pair of shoes. Well, I couldn’t agree more. This time, I’m putting it on my “realizaversment” of AS. The pamphlets and the books say that exercising is good for folks who have AS and that it can help with the pain management. As many people with auto-immune diseases can echo– umm, ok smart pants… but, if you’re in a ton of pain and your back and neck are stiff and your SI (aka butt) feels like there is a knife in it, how are you supposed to exercise?

My answer. You make yourself. That’s the best way I can put it. Perhaps my motivator is a race of some sort. I’m signed up for a half marathon in February and a 5-day bike ride in the summer. I’m not going to lie, I’m scared shit-less (pardon the language) of how my back and SI will feel before/during/after these races, but I forced myself to go to the gym to exercise and I did it over and over and I’m continuing to do it. And you know what? For that 30-45-60 minutes that I spend working out, my back and SI don’t hurt. It’s amazing. And you know what? Rather than spending my time focusing on blisters or the way the shoe was rubbing my little toe or how my arches hurt, I enjoyed my work outs. How? By coughing up some dough to get fitted for a good pair of running shoes. The folks at the running store actually watched me run and they commented on my gait and found me a pair of shoes that work really well. And that my friends, is the best money that I’ll ever spend because when I wear them and i go to the gym or go outside and exercise- for those 30-45-60 minutes I feel minimal pain. And I’ll take that.

Those shoes and perserverance is how I ran a 5K this past weekend. Now I feel invincible.

 

In other news, Andrew’s sister-in-law, Mariah, whom I’ve mentioned previously on my blog awarded me with the Liebster Blog Award! Mariah, if you don’t remember, has RA. She is now preggers and off Enbrel and the drugs. You can find her over at From This Point. Forward. As stolen from her blog post:

A Liebster is: “sweetheart, beloved person, darling adj. dear, darling; beloved, liked very much; affectionate, loving adj. favorite, preferred above others; liked or loved above others.”

So here are the rules of this award:
  1. Thank the person who gave you the award.
  2. Link back to the Blogger (or Bloggers) who awarded you.
  3. Answer the following questions, down below.
  4. Pass the award out and recognize other Bloggers letting them know that you love them.
So, as mentioned previously, a HUGE thanks to Mariah Z-Leach over at From this Point. Forward., who was diagnosed with RA and hasn’t let it stop her… and now she’s an expecting mom (can’t wait for the baby shower!)
Ok. On to the questions:
Favorite color: Orange and Hot Pink. Just perfect.

Favorite animal: Besides my pup, Franklin and my bearded dragon, Roxy… Penguins or Manatees :0)

Favorite number: 2. It’s way ahead of most and has the motivation to work to improve.

Favorite drink: Iced green tea or Gin and Tonic

Facebook or Twitter? Facebook. I use twitter occasionally but Facebook is more fun.

Passion? The environment, cooking, running, biking, and living life to it’s absolute fullest. Oh and doing what someone says I can’t just to see the expression on their face.

Getting or giving presents? I love giving presents.

Favorite day: Flag day. Andrew and I picked it is as our anniversary and on our drive home from our first trip away together we found it was flag day…
Favorite flower: Snap dragons. Always loved them and their names.
The rules are unclear on how many folks to give this award out to, so I’m just going to award it to a few choice folks who I think our rock stars.
My first award goes to Jess over at Just Call Me Janks. She’s a 20-something Baltimorean who blogs about life in her 20s. She recently got engaged to one of my all-time bestest friends from college, Jason Ader. She has a great blog about life and I think you’ll all enjoy it!
My next award goes to The Faces of Ankylosing Spondylitis. This blog/website is a great project that showcases the stories of folks who are suffering from AS. It has some very insightful information and it really helps inform folks of what people with AS go through day in and day out!
Lastly, I’m giving an award to Kelly Christal Johnston over at Hurting but Hopeful. She has an extensive blog on family life with AS and the aches and pains and bumps in the road. She is a very strong woman who keeps a positive attitude!

 

About aklasiccommotion

I have a zest for life and am always willing to try new things! I love traveling, food and cooking, my boyfriend, Andrew, our dog, Franklin, my bearded dragon, Roxy, and all things water-related. When I'm not at work dealing with nonpoint source pollution, you can find me hiking, biking, running, camping, road-tripping, or working on my masters in Environmental Planning and Management!

4 responses »

  1. Rachel, I have Brooks from Pacers. They’re fantastic. I’ve also had Asics in the past but this time, the folks at Pacers said that because I roll my feet to the outside, Brooks are better because they don’t have a built in stabilizing cushion (in other words your foot is more balanced for rollers like me). I also, coincidentally, just bought a pair of fiver fingers. I ❤ THEM! It is the most "normal" my feet have ever felt running and I would definitely recommend!

    Kathy: Amen!

  2. Just got a pair of Brooks tonight. My first pair. Maybe we’ll be shoe twins. And then maybe we’ll be running 7 minute miles. (One of those is more likely than the other.)

Leave a comment