Stress. Stress. Stress.

Standard

Source

We all know it, just when we need to be in a completely zen-like state, all hell breaks loose and 50 million things need to be done at once. You start to get those super tight muscles in the back of your neck- you start to breath heavier, you start to worry. It will never get done. There is no way.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I have had a lot going on and needed a way out. I was 10 feet under and digging with no sign of light or air. So, after some lengthy discussions with numerous folks and with the support of Andrew, I have gotten myself into a much more agreeable situation.

  1. We hired movers. We no longer needed to put our not so springy bodies through the ringer to try and get all this stuff moved from our apartment to our house.
  2. Calculus. In light of the AS flare-ups and the fact that my Calc prof fell behind grading my assignments, he granted me an extension to May 2, 2012. Awesome.
  3. Classes. After a lot of thought and albeit, a bit of defeat, I decided not to take courses this semester. I have 5 years to finish my Masters anyway, so why cram it all in at a time when I feel physically torn apart and mentally demolished? This will give me time to finish Calculus, move, and get the right combo of drugs!

We still need to unpack everything and we still need to find a subletter, but we are going in the right direction and all in all I am feeling pretty good. Stress is there but not overwhelming. Running helps a lot with it. Now if I could only get my blood pressure down and my heartburn gone!

About aklasiccommotion

I have a zest for life and am always willing to try new things! I love traveling, food and cooking, my boyfriend, Andrew, our dog, Franklin, my bearded dragon, Roxy, and all things water-related. When I'm not at work dealing with nonpoint source pollution, you can find me hiking, biking, running, camping, road-tripping, or working on my masters in Environmental Planning and Management!

8 responses »

  1. You know what? Good for you. I went straight back to law school the semester after I got diagnosed with RA and it. was. HELL. I took the next semester off and I used the extra time to focus on my health (and re-focusing my brain) and it was probably the best decision I ever made. It allowed me to slow down enough to figure out my new priorities and how to live with whatever limitations RA threw at me. And when I went back to school I was ready. So I hope the semester off does that for you too! I know (from experience) that it’s hard to admit when we need a break, but I think it’s really brave of you to take it. ~;o) Many much loves coming your way!!!

  2. Thanks soon-to-be momma :0). I agree– admitting that it’s time for a break is a major bummer for me but I am happy with the decision (as I am not freaking out about not have a gazillion calc assignments due today along with class work). Each of the 3 classes (Calc as one of them) said they would average 12 hours a week– 36 hours of class on top of a full time job? I don’t think so. This will be a good time to refocus and get things done and in order!!! Hope you are doing well!

  3. Happy to learn that you have put yourself at the top of your list. Not easy for all of us over achievers to do. I commend you. Live life. Love life!

  4. Pingback: I’m an AS Kicker. Seriously. « Taking the World by Storm

Leave a Reply

